Ten x Ten 2015

Ten x Ten 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015

Ten x Ten is a collaborative project between visual artists and musicians. Now in it's fourth and most ambitious iteration, Ten x Ten 2015 is the manifestation of a year-long collaboration involving 10 unique partnerships between musicians and visual artists. Producing organizations Homeroom and Spudnik Press along with Guest Curator Elastic Arts highlight Chicago’s jazz and visual arts communities to investigate how artists across media interpret improvisation.


After meeting their pairs and attending a presentation by Katherine Young and Jordan Martins on the history and practice of audio/visual collaborations at Graphic Notation 101 (2/8/15), each of the 20 distinct contributors explored their artistic practice in a cross-media collaboration with another artist in a series of live visual art and music performances including a Working Performance at Constellation (2/19/15) and a live Recording Performance (3/19/15) at Elastic Arts. Working within the genre of jazz and improvised music, the musicians each arranged and performed new compositions in collaboration with a visual artist. Working in tandem with their musician counterpart, each visual artist developed a new screenprinted artwork. The final product of their collaboration is a limited edition LP and a full-color publication featuring each print, statements by each artist/musician pair that illuminates their collaboration, and a digital download link.


Join Elastic Arts, Homeroom and Spudnik Press for a Ten x Ten 2015 Gallery Reception at Chicago Art Department, 1932 South Halsted on Friday, November 13, 6:00pm-10:00pm. The event will showcase each artist’s print, each available for $100, and include a live performance by four of the accompanying pieces performed by members of the Ten x Ten jazz ensemble.

 

The vinyl LP, full-color booklet and digital download will be available for $40 in a limited edition of 200. A limited edition of 10, hand-screenprinted and signed 18” square prints by each visual artist will also be available for $100.

Opening:

Friday, November 13, 2015 - 6:00pm

Special Event:

There is no special event for this exhibition.
Chicago Art Department
1932 S. Halsted, #100
Chicago
Phone: 312-725-4223

Neighborhood:

Pilsen
Fees:

Admission is free

Artwork available for purchase:

$40 for Ten x Ten 2015 Collection (vinyl record, full-color publication, download code)

$100 for Ten x Ten 2015 screenprint (edition of 10)

Chicago-based artists include:

Salvador Andrad Arevalo http://salvadorandrade.weebly.com/ Jerome Bryerton http://www.jeromebryerton.com/ Uriel Correa http://undianuevo.com/ Rob Funderburk http://robfunderburk.com/ Trevor Goosen http://trevorovert.blogspot.com/ Andrew Holmquist http://andrewholmquist.com/ Hannah Ireland http://hannahirelandstudio.com/ Vesna Jovanovic http://www.vesnaonline.com/ Alexander Stewart http://www.alexanderstewart.org/ Cynthia Weiss http://cynthiaweiss.com/studio/collage/index Josh Berman http://joshberman.net/ Paul Giallorenzo http://paulgiallorenzo.com/ Anton Hatwich http://www.antonhatwich.com/ Keefe Jackson http://keefejackson.com/ Peter Maunu http://petermaunu.com/ Eli Namay http://elinamay.com/ Ryan Packard http://cargocollective.com/ryanpackard Cameron Pfiffner http://umbrellamusic.org/musicians/cameron-pfiffner Jason Stein http://jasonsteinmusic.com/ Phil Sudderberg http://phillipsudderberg.tumblr.com/

Video:

Ten x Ten 2015 (full trailer)